Skip to main content
click for calendar
click for athletics
click for school tool
 
 

PG Parent Communications

MEALS:
ESE BREAKFAST & LUNCH MEALS
Starting Monday, March 30, 2020, ESM will transition to delivery of all breakfast and lunch meals free of charge to ESM families that sign up for delivery during the State of Emergency. As of that date, on-site meal pickup at East Syracuse Elementary School will be discontinued, and meals will only be delivered directly to homes. 
Please complete the form (online link) if you want to sign up for free meal delivery. Families that already receive delivered meals DO NOT need to complete this form. For delivery, someone needs to be home from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., but they will not need to come to the door. Those who sign up for delivery are asked to please leave a balloon, box, cooler, sign or other item out to help us identify where to leave meals.  
As a reminder, meals are only for children age 18 and younger (including children who are not school-age). Delivery will continue throughout the State of Emergency, including the previously scheduled Spring recess. Meals will be delivered Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays. Two days’ worth of meals will be delivered on Tuesdays and Thursdays.


St. Matthew's Food Pantry Information
St. Matthew's food pantry, now located next door to Family Dollar in East Syracuse, has changed their hours.  They will now be open only on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10am-12 pm.  Clients can just walk up to the door and they will receive food.  Clients will still need to bring their ID with them. 
 

Distance Learning

 

Students: JOIN Mrs. Modafferi's Online Art Club- ALL grades welcome!
A fun place to access some art-making activities if you and your friends are looking for something to do.
Classroom Code: 7kuo44e

Google Classroom Etiquette

Discussions
  • Please participate respectfully- if you wouldn’t say something to someone in person you probably shouldn’t type it
  • Remember your Google Classroom is being read daily by your teachers and your administrators
  • Be helpful! If a student posts a question and you can answer it for them, please do! If you can’t answer the question, please don’t leave an unhelpful or random comment
  • The Google Classroom is used for learning, please do not carry on conversations unrelated to an assignment, especially negative conversations. We’re all learning together. If you have a question or need help, ask your classmates or your teacher. The Google Classroom is not a place to vent your frustrations
  • Remember to follow the Spartan Way! Be safe, respectful, and responsible
Assignments
  • Make sure you’re checking your Classrooms regularly
  • If you need help with anything, ask your teacher
     

Chromebook Usage Reminders

  

Please make sure you signed your Chromebook and power cord out through your homebase teacher. Chromebooks should be used for school work only. 

Please remember:

  • All Chromebooks have asset tags (labels, bar codes); Leave them as is

  • Chromebooks belong to ESM; Please do NOT add personal stickers or decorations or screensavers or (covers)

  • Please Do NOT put food or drink near the Chromebooks

  • Be sure NOT remove any keys on the keyboard

  • Chromebooks should NOT be left in unsupervised areas

  • Make sure your Chromebook is shut down weekly, if not daily

  • Keep your Chromebook and power cord in a safe place

Parent support--if parents have problems with connecting their student's Chromebook to their home wifi, they can call a new number 315-434-3024. This will be staffed by ESM tech support staff. 

Tips for Online Distance Learning Slideshow

Return to top 

Supports for Distance Learning


Main Office: 315-434-3050 prompt 7 (if no one answers please leave a voicemail they go to our emails)

Grade Level Administration:
6-2 Blue / 6-3 Orange & 8th Grade: Associate Principal Ashleigh Wilson awilson@esmschools.org
6-1 Blue / 6-3 Blue / 6-1 Orange / 6-2 Orange & 7th Grade: Assistant Principal Shelly LaMarche slamarche@esmschools.org

Interim Principal: Mary Schiltz mschiltz@esmschools.org

Nurse:
Cheryl English RN  p:315-434-3053 cenglish@esmschools.org

Counseling Center:
6th Grade: Amber Atkinson 315-434-3052 x1514 aatkinson@esmschools.org
7th Grade: Courtney Cameron 315-434-3052 x1544  ccameron@esmschools.org
8th Grade: Kevin DeParde 315-434-3052 x1513 kdeparde@esmschools.org

School Psychologists:
6th & 8th Grade: Carley Griffin 315-434-3052 x1545 cgriffin@esmschools.org
7th Grade: Michele Krause 315-434-3052 x1541 mkrause@esmschools.org

Special Areas:
Librarian: Susan Kowalski skowalski@esmschools.org
https://sites.google.com/esmschools.org/pglibrary2018-19/learning-247-from-pglibrary

Technology:
6th grade-Mr. Pounds   mpounds@esmschools.org
7th grade-Mr. Ashley dashley@esmschools.org
8th grade-Mr. Macomber   smacomber@esmschools.org

Art:
6th grade-Ms. Modafferi amodafferi@esmschools.org
7th grade-Ms. Kent kkent@esmschools.org
8th grade-Ms. Ehrlich kehrlich@esmschools.org

FACS:
6th Grade & 7th Grade: Ms. Trew rtrew@esmschools.org
7th Grade: Ms. Dolbear  kdolbear@esmschools.org

Physical Education:
Mr. Houck phouck@esmschools.org
Mr. Neff kneff@esmschools.org
Ms. Bright kbright@esmschools.org
Ms. Felicia dfelicia@esmschools.org

Band:
Mr. Penfield cpenfield@esmschools.org
Mrs. Mastrobattisto pmastrobattisto@esmschools.org

Music/ Chorus:
Ms. Labatos vlabatos@esmschools.org
Ms. Paduano rpaduano@esmschools.org
Mr. Dunlap bdunlap@esmschools.org

Health:
6th Grade: Ms. Zdobylak czdobylak@esmschools.org
7th Grade: Ms. Cayea lcayea@esmschools.org

Foreign Language:
French: Ms. Casey-Kelleher ccaseykelleher@esmschools.org
Spanish: Ms. Wasil-Espinoza bwasil-espinoza@esmschools.org
Latin: Mr. Buczek cbuczek@esmschools.org

Speech:
Mrs. Brown abrown@esmschools.org

OT:
Ms. Aliani maliani@esmschools.org

PT:
Ms. Emery cemery@esmschools.org

Return to top 
 

Below are Pine Grove parent messages we have shared with families:

 
PINE GROVE SCHOOLMESSENGER EMAILED TO FAMILIES 3-24-20
ESM Families:

Starting Monday, March 30, 2020, ESM will transition to delivery of all breakfast and lunch meals free of charge to ESM families that sign up for delivery during the State of Emergency. As of that date, on-site meal pickup at East Syracuse Elementary School will be discontinued, and meals will only be delivered directly to homes. Meals will still be available at East Syracuse Elementary on Thursday, March 26.

Please complete the form (online link) if you want to sign up for free meal delivery. Families that already receive delivered meals DO NOT need to complete this form. For delivery, someone needs to be home from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., but they will not need to come to the door. Those who sign up for delivery are asked to please leave a balloon, box, cooler, sign or other item out to help us identify where to leave meals.  
 

As a reminder, meals are only for children age 18 and younger (including children who are not school-age). Delivery will continue throughout the State of Emergency, including the previously scheduled Spring recess. Meals will be delivered Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays. Two days’ worth of meals will be delivered on Tuesdays and Thursdays.


Pine Grove SchoolMessenger Emailed to Families 3-20-20


Good Afternoon Parents and Students:
 
This is your administrative team checking in. We noticed that so many of you are doing a fabulous job using Google Classroom.
 
We had over 150 pick-ups and deliveries of materials since Tuesday. Thank you parents!
If you are experiencing any problems, you can contact your teacher, counselor, school nurse or grade level administrator. We have a distant learning section on our Pine Grove website that contains contact information and tips for distant learning.


We just wanted you to know that you are missed!

Ms. Schiltz, Ms. Wilson & Mrs. LaMarsh

Pine Grove SchoolMessenger Emailed to Families 3-17-20

Hello Pine Grove Families,
 
Pine Grove has launched your child’s online distance learning in Google Classroom. Teachers have posted information, schedules, videos, resources, times and ways your child can communicate with their teachers.
 
We are already seeing many of our students online. If your child did not take home materials, books, novels, or a Chromebook (if needed), please plan to pick up the necessary materials for distance learning between 7:45 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.  Wednesday, March 18. If you cannot make it during this time, please call the school at 315-434-3050 to make other arrangements.
 
I wish the best of health and comfort to all of our Pine Grove Families, and look forward to continuing to interact with your children as they learn at home.
 
Mary Schiltz
Pine Grove Interim Principal
 
Pine Grove SchoolMessenger Emailed to Families 3-16-20

Dear Parents and Guardians:

The Pine Grove Staff is working diligently to make sure certain plans are in place to support students and their families as we transition to on-line, distance learning. Here is some important information:
  • Closing: As per order from the County, the last day for students attending school will be today, March 16, 2020, at 4 p.m. This emergency closure is in effect until Tuesday, April 14, 2020. 
  • Meals: Starting March 17, free grab-n-go bagged breakfast and lunch will be provided Monday, Tuesday and Thursday from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. at East Syracuse Elementary School for ALL children 18 and under. On Tuesdays & Thursdays, families will be able to pick up two days’ worth of meals.
  • Chromebooks: Those students in need of devices for online, distance learning signed out Chromebooks and chargers during homebase today, Monday, March 16. Teachers asked students to take home all essential materials with them today.
  • Internet Access: Families without internet access for online, distance learning are eligible for internet services for 60 days free of charge through Spectrum. After that the family will be billed for service. This offer only applies to families who have not had Spectrum Internet within the last 60 days. Spectrum encourages families to try to call first thing in the morning to avoid delays at 1-844-488-8395. If you need further assistance, contact Cheryl West, ESM Coordinator for Youth Development & Leadership, at 315-434-3010.
  • Extracurricular Activities: All extracurricular/after-school activities are cancelled until further notice. 
  • Student Work: Students who are absent today will be marked as excused. Please have your child access his/her teachers’ Google Classroom sites to retrieve any work that may be available. Teachers are in the process of developing distance learning lessons to ensure continuity of instruction. Further information will be provided when work becomes available. Please have your student continue to check the Google Classroom for the latest information.
  • Library Resources: Students can visit the Pine Grove library website for Learning 24/7, which includes activities and resources students may be interested in accessing while on an extended leave from school. Use this link for access to the library resources site.
Thank you for your continued support, patience and understanding. The Pine Grove parent community ROCKS! 

With gratitude, 
Mary Schiltz
Interim Principal

 
Additional Messages: 
  • Band: Please read an email sent to Band parents from Mr. Penfield. Email is asking students to bring home their instruments. Students will be provided information from the Google Classroom (class code: pyz5cyy) 
  • As information evolves, We will keep you informed via Pine Grove's website, text, or school messenger. We know that students are going to be away from their teachers, but they still will be connected. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we work to navigate these uncharted times together.
  • Other district resources for free meals, technology help and more are available online.  

Please read the District Letter on COVID-19:
District wide letter COVID-19


Return to top