Skip to main content
click for calendar
click for athletics
click for school tool

Athletic Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame Induction
Ceremony: Jan. 14, 2023
Next Nominations Due: Feb. 1, 2023

The East Syracuse Minoa Athletic Hall of Fame to recognize the accomplishments of the inductees and develop pride in the rich athletic traditions. These role models exemplify East Syracuse Minoa’s commitment to academics, community and athletic excellence. Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremonies are held biennially on odd-numbered years (2023, 2025, 2027, 2029) A ceremony for athletes, coaches and other individuals is typically held in January, while a team induction is held in the Fall. The Hall of Fame was chartered in the spring of 2006.

The ESM Athletic Hall of Fame Committee will induct its 9th class on Jan. 14, 2023. Inductees are: John Novenche, '62, Basketball; Paul DiMartino, '65, Lacrosse; William Hard, '66, Football, Wrestling, Lacrosse; Chet Groesbeck, '72, Football; Samuel "Skip" Miller, '73, Lacrosse; Jill Marani, '82, Soccer, Basketball, Softball; Michael Williams, '82, Track and Field; Michael Zerrillo, '82, Gymnastics; and Wendy Williams, '84, Soccer.

The public is invited to attend a free ceremony with introductions Jan. 14, 2023 at about 4:15 p.m. during halftime of the boy’s varsity home basketball game at ESM Central High School. The official unveiling of plaques in the Hall of Fame lobby will follow.

A dinner, reception and formal inductions are planned at 5:30 p.m. at Traditions at the Links in East Syracuse on Jan. 14, 2023. Tickets are $50/adults and $20/12 & under to attend the evening ceremony. Make checks payable to the ESM Athletic Hall of Fame and write in the memo which honoree you are supporting. Mail RSVPs to Karen Stuper, ESM Athletic Office, 6400 Fremont Road, East Syracuse NY 13057 by Dec. 21. 

Anyone with questions can email: . Those interested in being a patron/advertiser can call 315- 434-3301. The patron donation is $25 for your name to appear in the program. Advertisements are $50/half page and $100/full page.
The East Syracuse Minoa High School Athletic Hall of Fame accepts nominations on an ongoing basis.
The Hall of Fame was started to recognize the accomplishments of the inductees and develop pride in ESM's athletic traditions. People can be nominated in one of three categories; athlete, coach or distinguished service. Nominees must have graduated or retired 10 or more years ago.

Nomination form and criteria 
Current Hall of Fame Members:
Last Name First Name Year Inducted Year
Inducted For
Allen Terry 2009 1974 Football
Almonte Dan 2021 1992 Baseball
Ames Nancy 2017   Coach
Anderson Joshua 2015 2002 Football
Andrianos Leah 2017 2007 Cross Country &
Track & Field
Asterino Christopher 2011 1980 Lacrosse
Becker Gary 2011   Coach
Bennett Aubrey 2017 2000 Football
Bennett Nalin 2017 2007 Softball
Bertrand Kari Anne 2007 1988 Indoor Track
Outdoor Track
Bognacki Jason 2011 1995 Indoor Track
Outdoor Track
Sherron 2009 2000 Basketball
Caso Mark 2009 1979 Gymnastics
Caso Christopher 2013 1981 Gymnastics
Cato (Mudge) Nancy 2019 1947 Athlete/Baseball
& Minoa HS
Cole Cheryl 2021 1982 Basketball/Athlete
Collins Henry 2009   Coach  
Costello Larry 2007 1949 Basketball
Dahlin Britt 2021 1974 Football
Dattmore Tyler 2019 2009 Golf
Drennen Lorrie 2021 1989 Basketball/Athlete
Engelhardt Tim 2007 1995 Cross Country
Fontana Kate 2013 2003 Lacrosse
French Greg 2007 1978 Lacrosse
Gilkey Craig 2019 2001 Football
Gowin Toby 2009 1962 Football /
East Syr. HS
Griffin Jack 2007   Coach & AD
Hartman Doug 2011   Coach
Hughes Jennifer 2007 1992 Soccer
Kubecka Steve 2021 1956 Football
Minoa High School
Labbate Joseph 2015 1979 Wrestling
Lissner Michelle 2017 2005 Lacrosse
Mohorter Doug 2013 1984 Bowling &
Murray Dennis 2021 1978 Baseball
Orr Patricia 2011 1974 All Around
O'Shea Dan 2019 2001 Soccer
Perry Ray 2021 1983 Basketball
Powell Mark 2019   Athletic Trainer
Rushey April 2015 1999 Indoor Track
Outdoor Track
Scheibel Suzanne 2013 1974 All Around
Shaw Scott 2019 1999 Cross Country &
Track & Field
Sheldon Dr. Thomas 2011   Coach
Siechen Brittany 2019 2009 Golf
Taylor Mike 2017 1999 Soccer
Tolhurst Joe 2015 1936 Basketball /
East Syr. HS
Allison 2011 2002 Lacrosse
Tyminski Charlie 2021 1968 Coach
Valerio Milt 2015   Coach
Megan 2015 2000 Softball
Verzino Joseph 2013 1971 Football
Vona John 2013 1948 All Around
Athlete /
Minoa HS
Carol 2009 1989 Soccer
Williams Todd 2015 1989 Baseball