

President: Scott Sugar – Fayetteville-Manlius Vice President: Chris Ells – Fulton Vice President: Ari Liberman - Liverpool

May 10, 2017

Press Release

On June 19 2007, the Central New York Counties League (CNYCL) was created as the schools with a BEDs number in the AA classification united into one league. With the ever changing landscape of high school athletics along with the decrease in school populations across the state of New York, the CNYCL league has seen its membership decrease over the past 5 years.

On March 23, 2017 the CNYCL member schools unanimously amended its constitution regarding its membership requirements so that it now reads "Based on BEDs numbers, schools that are categorized in the two (2) largest possible enrollment classifications in the NYSPHSAA five classification system (AA & A)."

Following this constitutional change the CNYCL unanimously accepted the membership applications of the following schools to join the CNYCL; Auburn, Central Square, Cortland, East Syracuse-Minoa, Fowler, Fulton, Jamesville-Dewitt, and Oswego.

The joining of these sixteen schools also brings a growth in the vision and mission of the league. That growth starts with a new platform to better market the league, its teams, student-athletes and coaches. These sixteen schools then unanimously approved to change the name of the league to now be recognized as the Salt City Athletic Conference (SCAC). The conference will have two divisions; The Metro Division comprised of: Baldwinsville, Cicero-North Syracuse, Corcoran, Fayetteville-Manlius, Henninger, Liverpool, Nottingham, and West Genesee. The Empire division comprised of: Auburn, Central Square, Cortland, East Syracuse-Minoa, Fowler, Fulton, Jamesville-Dewitt, and Oswego.

The members of the SCAC look forward to working together to creatively promote high school athletics through the Educational Frameworks developed by the NYSPHSAA; along with teaching leadership, character, and providing new opportunities for student-athlete competition. The SCAC's mission is to promote the successes of its teams, athletes and coaches at the league, sectional and state level.



Empire: Auburn, Central Square, Cortland, East Syracuse-Minoa, Fowler, Fulton, Jamesville-Dewitt, Oswego Metro: Baldwinsville, Cicero-North Syracuse, Corcoran, Fayetteville-Manlius, Henninger, Liverpool, Nottingham, West Genesee